The Grave

8

June 14, 2016 by Felicia Hf

The bone lay openly on the brick wall. I gulped and took a step closer, shortening the rope of my dog’s leash. I didn’t know what kind of bone it was, but it looked slightly raw and the edges were ragged, as though there had been meat on it just hours before. I felt sick. I wanted to turn around and leave, but the bone wouldn’t leave my mind. I stood there, staring at it, wondering where it had come from.

At my dog’s frantic digging, I looked down. I yanked his leash, trying to drag him away, but he had already uncovered enough earth for me to see what had attracted his attention. Torn apart, a human body had been placed here in its grave. My gaze turned back to the lone bone on the brick wall.

With shaking hands, I was about to call the police, when ice cold fingers wrap around my neck from behind. I had been too caught in my own thoughts that I had not heard my dog’s warning bark.

© 2016

FFftPP, Week #24 – 2016

8 thoughts on “The Grave

  1. Oh wow! I’m hooked! Great writing as always! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Prism says:

    Creepy stuff! I love it ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  3. afairymind says:

    Wonderfully dark, Felicia! I hope she somehow gets away – maybe her dog is quite vicious when his mistress is attacked…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. calensariel says:

    Sounds like a great start to a murder mystery!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

© FeliciaHf, 2016-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of any material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to FeliciaHf and/or Felicia Heilgendorff with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Title quote © Roald Dahl (BFG)

Categories

Archives

June 2016
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
my read shelf:
Felicia Heilgendorff's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)