X for Xandria

12

April 28, 2016 by Felicia Hf

I had waited years for this day, but now that the ancient famous aircraft stood before me, all I could think of was the plane crashing with my wife inside.

I stared at the cockpit and wondered what the pilot had been thinking when he realised that the aircraft was sinking. They said it was an accident. Or had the pilot purposefully crashed the plane? I would never know.

I stared at the metal coating and imagined it shredding to pieces as the aircraft hit those fatal rocks below. They had only found the remnants of the plane, spread across a vast area, where it had crashed.

I stared at the back of the plane and imagined what my wife must have been thinking when she found out she was going to die. Did she scream? Was she calm and collected, trying to keep a cool head and figure out a way to change their fate?

Xandria, my poor wife, is all I think now, and I begin to weep as I stare at the old aircraft, unable to get images of the shreds of aircraft and body parts from my mind.

© 2016

FFftPP, Week #18 – 2016

x

12 thoughts on “X for Xandria

  1. luckyjc007 says:

    What a terrible thing to have to live with…not knowing how his wife felt at the time or exactly what happened or why it happened. Great emotional story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a very sad tale with lots of emotion. I think it’s great that you have captured the state of mind he would probably be in.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This captures emotion well. I’ve known a few people who’ve faced the cars in which their loved ones were killed, and it’s really tough. A person can’t help but go through all those “what-ifs” in that moment. Hopefully this narrator finds closure through seeing the plane. Sometimes that’s all we can ask for!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Felicia Hf says:

      It’s certainly a horrible thing to see the aircraft wreck, knowing that your wife was in there, and all being reduced to small shreds scattered over the place it crashed. I hope he finds closure too somehow!

      Like

  4. mandibelle16 says:

    This man is truly empathetic. He can walk in another man’s shoes as Atticus so brilliantly said in TKAM. I am sorry he has this job of putting together the pieces of what happened. That all he can think about is this man’s wife as she faced death with him. It would be horrible to know you were flying your spouse to their death, if you truly loved them. I think this man loves his wife very much, for him to think this way. A sorrowful tale. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

© FeliciaHf, 2016-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of any material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to FeliciaHf and/or Felicia Heilgendorff with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Title quote © Roald Dahl (BFG)

Categories

Archives

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
my read shelf:
Felicia Heilgendorff's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)