The Car Crash

7

January 17, 2016 by Felicia Hf

139-01-january-17th-2016

I want to scream, is all I can think, yet I cannot. Snow pushing in through the shattered windows of my car freezes my broken legs. Unable to move my lower body, I try to fumble around for the doors with my hands. My fingers plunge into the soft snow and I yank them back with a howl.

In the accident, my car was lurched to the side. There is no way I will ever get out of here. Panicked, I shovel through the snow with my hands. I cannot feel them anymore, but I know they are somewhere buried in the white fluff now.

There are no sirens, no sounds. It’s the middle of the night and all I hear is the howling of the snowstorm as it rages around me. I should never have left at this hour. Not in this kind of weather. Even staying at that house, with that violent husband would have been better than this.

My numb fingers scraping against the sharp shards of glass, I howl again with pain. My voice is barely audible above the howling wind.

Perhaps my husband will come find me. Hadn’t he been right behind me during the accident? He’s probably more than delighted now about what happened, I think bitterly, sucking at my finger to stop the bleeding.

© 2016

Sunday Photo Fiction 17th January 2016

7 thoughts on “The Car Crash

  1. Steve Lakey says:

    Her desperate plight is heightened by the bitter weather. Chilling, in both senses of the word.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rogershipp says:

    Wow… Quite dramatically told. Enjoyed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That last line. I don’t think it was an accident now. Poor woman. You described the scene well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

© FeliciaHf, 2016-2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of any material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to FeliciaHf and/or Felicia Heilgendorff with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Title quote © Roald Dahl (BFG)

Categories

Archives

January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
my read shelf:
Felicia Heilgendorff's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)